Later Le Dynasty (Early Le)

Vietnam History - Later Le DynastyKings of The Later Le Dynasty (Early Le) (1428–1527):

– Le Loi (ruled 1428-1433)
– Le Thai Tong (1433-1442)
– Le Nhan Tong (1442-1459)
– Le Thanh Tong (1460-1497)
– Le Hien Tong (1497 – 1504)
– Le Tuc Tong (1504 – 1505)
– Le Uy Muc (1505 – 1509)
– Le Tuong Duc (1510 – 1516)
– Le Chieu Tong (1516-1522)
– Le Cung Hoang (1522-1527)

The dynasty officially began in 1428 with the coronation of Le Loi after he drove the Ming army from Vietnam. In 1527, the Mac Dynasty usurped the throne; when the Le Dynasty was restored in 1533, they still had to compete for power with the Mac Dynasty during the period known as Southern and Northern Dynasties.

The Le Dynasty’s rule saw Vietnam’s territories grow from a small state in northern Vietnam at the time of Le Loi’s coronation into almost its current size by the time the Tay Son brothers took over. It also saw massive changes to Vietnamese society: the previously Buddhist state became Confucian after 20 years of Ming rule. The Lê emperors instituted many changes modeled after the Chinese system, including the civil service and laws. Their long-lasting rule was attributed to the popularity of the early emperors. Le Loi’s liberation of the country from 20 years of Chinese rule and Le Thanh Tong’s bringing the country into a golden age was well-remembered by the people. Even when restored Le emperors’ rule was marked by civil strife and constant peasant uprisings, few dared to openly challenge their power, at least in name, for fear of losing popular support.