Nguyen Dynasty

Kings of Nguyen Dynasty (1802-1945):

– Gia Long (1802-1819)
– Minh Menh (1820-1840)
– Thieu Tri (1841-1847)
– Tu Duc (1848-1883)
– Duc Duc (1883, 3 days)
– Hiep Hoa (1883, 4 months).
– Kien Phuc (1883-1884)
– Ham Nghi (1884-1885)
– Dong Khanh (1886-1888)
– Thanh Thai (1889-1907)
– Duy Tan (1907-1916)
– Khai Dinh (1916-1925)
– Bao Dai (1926-1945)

Hoang thanh nhin tu tren caoNguyen Anh Gia Long took the throne in 1802 and founded the Nguyen Dynasty (1802-1945). Gia Long and Minh Mang, the first kings of the Nguyen Dynasty, unified the country and set up a healthy state. In regards to the internal policy, the Kings Nguyen cleared land for cultivation, encouraging irrigation. In regards to the external policy, kings Minh Mang and Thieu Tri sent merchant ships to trade with France, England, Indonesia, and India.

The Kings Nguyen ordered that books on national history and geography be written and printed important books which had a great impact on the national culture. Confucianism was becoming the basis of the Nguyen dynasty’s conservative ideology. The Nguyen Dynasty imposed a closed-door policy and dispelled diplomatic missions who wanted to set up relations with Vietnam.